Virtual Saturday School (& TSI testing & Delta)

Akins High School will have Virtual Saturday School this fall semester due to COVID 19.  For most students, it is about doing 'seat time' so that they can make up missed absences and clear their NCs.  
 
Saturday School has 3 major components- 
 
  • regular Sat. School
  • TSI testing
  • Delta
 
Starting time- 9am              Ending time- 12pm
 
Students must bring the following in order to be admitted into Virtual Saturday School.
  • Reading materials
  • Assignments for the week
  • Homework
  • Projects
  • Special arrangements w/ teachers for taking quizzes or tests (tests are left with administrator)
 
Most students attend Saturday School to clear NCs (No Credit) for classes that they have taken before.  They work with their assistant principals on a plan to clear the NCs.  Often times, teachers and students make special arrangements for students to make up assignments or take tests during Saturday School.
 
The following are reasons for attending Saturday School:
  • Clearing NCs
  • Tardy Sweep 
  • Discipline referral by assistant principal
  • Tutoring/homework
  • Community service
  • TSI testing
  • Delta  
 
VIRTUAL SATURDAY SCHOOL DATES for Fall 2020 Semester:
Saturday, Oct. 3, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Oct. 10, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Oct. 17, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Oct. 24, 9am-12pm 
Saturday, Oct. 31, 9am-12pm
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saturday, Nov. 7, 9am-12pm
Topic: Virtual Saturday School
Time: Nov 14, 2020 09:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)
 
Join Zoom Meeting
 
Meeting ID: 963 8592 0616
Passcode: 316614
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saturday, Nov. 14, 9am-12pm
 
Topic: Virtual Saturday School
Time: Nov 14, 2020 09:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)
 
Meeting ID: 963 8592 0616
Passcode: 316614
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saturday, Nov. 21, 9am-12pm
Topic: Virtual Saturday School
Time: Nov 21, 2020 08:30 AM Central Time (US and Canada)
 
 
Meeting ID: 939 1556 3473
Passcode: 932047
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
No Saturday School, Saturday, Nov. 28
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saturday, Dec. 5, 9am-12pm
Topic: Virtual Saturday School
Time: Dec 5, 2020 09:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)
 
Join Zoom Meeting
 
Meeting ID: 917 7500 3678
Passcode: 929860
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saturday, Dec. 12, 9am-12pm
 
(Subject to change depending on campus budget)
 
SATURDAY SCHOOL DATES for Spring 2021 Semester:
Saturday, Jan. 9, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Jan. 16, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Jan. 23, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Jan. 30, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 6, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 13, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 20, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 27, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Mar. 6, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Mar. 13, 9am-12pm
No Saturday School on Mar. 20
Saturday, Mar. 27, 9am-12pm
No Saturday School on Apr. 3
Saturday, Apr. 10, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Apr. 17, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Apr. 24, 9am-12pm
Saturday, May 1, 9am-12pm
Saturday, May 8, 9am-12pm
Saturday, May 15, 9am-12pm
Saturday, May 22, 9am-12pm
 
(Subject to change depending on campus budget)
 
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RULES FOR VIRTUAL SATURDAY SCHOOL

(most of Fall Semester is virtual)

  1. Virtual Saturday School is from 9:00am – 12:00pm through ZOOM.
  2. Virtual Saturday School students must be on time and sign in. (Be in the waiting room from 8:50am-9:15am)
  3. Saturday School students must bring books and/or school assignment.
  4. Saturday School students must bring work on school assignments throughout the time.
  5. Saturday School students must remain seated and quiet.
  6. Saturday School students cannot bring food or drinks.
  7. Saturday School students cannot leave the room
  8. Saturday School students cannot use electronic devices (cell phones, iPods, etc.)
  9. Saturday School students may not put your head down or fall asleep.
  10. Saturday School students must be present at the end when checking out.

 

REMINDERS: Saturday School students may not leave the library or access your phone while in Saturday School. Your assistant principal will take additional disciplinary action if you do not attend Saturday School such as going to ISS.

 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday School Coordinator

Ms. Senaida Martinez- (512) 841-9905 or senaida.martinez@austinisd.org 
 

Saturday School Administrator

Mr. M. Garcia- (512) 841-9815 or jmgarcia@austinisd.org