Akins High School

Skip to main content
Blue & Gold Fall Festival has been moved to Wednesday, November 7, 5:30-8pm.  All community members are welcome to attend.

Saturday School

Akins High School has Saturday School throughout the school year.  It is study hall.  
Starting time- 9am              Ending time- 12pm
 
Students must bring the following in order to be admitted into Saturday School.
  • Reading materials
  • Assignments for the week
  • Homework
  • Projects
  • Special arrangements w/ teachers for taking quizzes or tests (tests are left with administrator)
 
Most students attend Saturday School to clear NCs (No Credit) for classes that they have taken before.  They work with their assistant principals on a plan to clear the NCs.  Often times, teachers and students make special arrangements for students to make up assignments or take tests during Saturday School.
 
The following are reasons for attending Saturday School:
  • Clearing NCs
  • Tardy Sweep 
  • Discipline referral by assistant principal
  • Tutoring/homework
  • Community service
  • TSI testing
  • Delta  
 
SATURDAY SCHOOL DATES for Fall 2018 Semester:
Saturday, Sept. 1, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Sept. 8, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Sept. 15, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Sept. 22, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Sept. 29, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Oct. 6, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Oct. 13, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Oct. 20, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Oct. 27, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Nov. 3, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Nov. 10, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Nov. 17, 9am-12pm
No Saturday School, Saturday, Nov. 24
Saturday, Dec. 1, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Dec. 8, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Dec. 15, 9am-12pm
 
SATURDAY SCHOOL DATES for Spring 2019 Semester:
 
Saturday, Jan. 12, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Jan. 19, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Jan. 26, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 2, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 9, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 16, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Feb. 23, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Mar. 2, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Mar. 9, 9am-12pm
No Saturday School on Mar. 23rd
Saturday, Mar. 30, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Apr. 6, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Apr. 13, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Apr. 20, 9am-12pm
Saturday, Apr. 27, 9am-12pm
Saturday, May 4, 9am-12pm
Saturday, May 11, 9am-12pm
Saturday, May 18, 9am-12pm
 
 
 
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RULES FOR SATURDAY SCHOOL

  1. Saturday School is from 9:00am – 12:00pm in the Library.
  2. Saturday School students must be on time and sign in.
  3. Saturday School students must bring books and/or school assignment.
  4. Saturday School studentsmust bring work on school assignments throughout the time.
  5. Saturday School students must remain seated and quiet.
  6. Saturday School students cannot bring food or drinks.
  7. Saturday School students cannot leave the room
  8. Saturday School students cannot use electronic devices (cell phones, iPods, etc.)
  9. Saturday School students may not put your head down or fall asleep.
  10. Saturday School students must be present at the end when checking out.

 

REMINDERS: Saturday School students may not leave the library or access your phone while in Saturday School. Your assistant principal will take additional disciplinary action if you do not attend Saturday School such as going to ISS.

 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday School Coordinator

Ms. Sandra Salinas- (512) 841-9918 or sandra.salinas@austinisd.org 
 

Saturday School Administrator

Mr. M. Garcia- (512) 841-9815 or jmgarcia@austinisd.org